National Bone Health Alliance
Strong Bones America

Governance Committee

The National Bone Health Alliance (NBHA) Governance Committee is made up of representatives from each member organization and is responsible for implement the overarching vision of the Alliance. Its members speak on behalf of bone health by representing the perspective of their stakeholder groups and the broader bone health community.

The Governance Committee oversees the creation of project teams and working groups responsible for carrying out the projects and activities of the Alliance and also establishes and enforces Alliance policies and procedures. Each NBHA member can appoint an individual to serve on the Governance Committee.

NBHA Governance Committee Members

  • Robert Adler, MD [Co-Chair]
    Professor of Internal Medicine, Epidemiology and Community Health, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine and Chief, Endocrinology and Metabolism, McGuire Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Richmond, VA
  • Kenneth G. Saag, MD [Co-Chair]
    Director, Center for Education and Research on Therapeutics (CERTs) of Musculoskeletal Disorders
    Professor, Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology, The University of Alabama at Birmingham

    President, Board of Trustees, National Osteoporosis Foundation

  • Diane Schneider, MD
    4 Bone Health
  • James Pilachowski
    Senior Director, Global Marketing
    AgNovos Healthcare
  • Cynthia Bens
    Vice President, Public Policy
    Alliance for Aging Research
  • Arvind Nana, MD
    Associate Professor, University of North Texas Health Science Center
    American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
  • Pauline Camacho, MD
    Associate Professor of Medicine and Director, Loyola University Osteoporosis Metabolic Bone Disease Center, Loyola University Medical Center
    American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists
  • Kathleen Cody
    Executive Director
    American Bone Health
  • Andreas Grauer, MD
    Global Development Executive Medical Director
  • Augusto Focil, MD
    President and Co-Founder
    California Hispanic Osteoporosis Foundation
  • Joshua Mundy
    DePuy Synthes Biomaterials
  • Ann-Marie Tejcek
    U.S. Brand Leader, Musculoskeletal Team
    Eli Lilly and Company
  • Stephanie Kutler
    Director, Quality Improvement
    Endocrine Society
  • Deanna Portero
    Executive Director
    Fibrous Dysplasia Foundation
  • Karen Tracy
    Director, Strategic Alliance Development
    Gerontological Society of America
  • Seth Ginsberg
    Global Healthy Living Foundation
  • Eric Jensen
    Health Monitor Network
  • John B. Jenkins
    Vice President and General Manager, Skeletal Health
    Hologic, Inc.
  • Dagmar Kasper, PhD
    International Business Manager, Life Science
    Immunodiagnostic Systems
  • Stephen Kates, MD
    Professor, Department of Orthopaedics, University of Rochester and President
    International Geriatric Fracture Society
  • Bobo Tanner, MD,
    Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Rheumatology/Division of Allergy and Immunology, Vanderbilt University
    Past President, International Society for Clinical Densitometry
  • Kathy Williams, PhD
    Healthy Bones Program
    Kaiser Permanente
  • Mary Oates, MD
    Marian Osteoporosis Center, Santa Maria, California
  • Stacy Hailey
    Director, Global Interventional Market Development
  • Sarah Ziegler
    Vice President & National Director of Research
    MHE Research Foundation
  • Alan Brett, PhD
    Vice President, Business Development
    Mindways Software, Inc.
  • Gay Johnson
    National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women’s Health
  • Susan Scanlan
    Chair, National Council of Women's Organizations and
    President, Women's Research & Education Institute
  • James DePass
    Vice President, Business Development
    Optasia Medical, Inc.
  • Anthony Holmes, PhD
    Chief Executive Officer
    Optasia Medical, Inc
  • Laura Tosi, MD
    Programs Director, Bone Health Program
    Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Children’s Hospital National Medical Center, Washington, DC
    Member, Medical Advisory Council, Osteogenesis Imperfecta Foundation and NBHA Governance Committee Representative, American Orthopaedic Association
  • Stuart Silverman, MD
    Medical Director
    Osteoporosis Medical Center, Los Angeles, California
  • Jim M. Harris
    Clinical Development and Education Manager
    Roche Diagnostics Corporation
  • Deborah Fowler (Sittig)
    Soft Bones, Inc.
  • Kimberly J. Templeton, MD
    Professor, Orthopedic Surgery, University of Kansas Medical Center
    President, United States Bone and Joint Initiative
  • Christopher Shuhart, MD
    Member, Executive Board
    Washington Osteoporosis Coalition
  • Carol LaFleur
    Executive Director
    XLH Network, Inc.

  • Anne Looker, PhD [non-voting liaison]
    Distinguished Consultant 
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics
  • Joan McGowan, PhD [non-voting liaison]
    Director, Division of Musculoskeletal Diseases
    National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, National Institutes of Health
  • Theresa Kehoe, MD [non-voting liaison]
    Medical Officer
    U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  • Saralyn Mark, MD [non-voting liaison]
    President, SolaMed Solutions and Medical Consultant and Liaison to
    National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Dan Green [non-voting liaison]
    Centers for Medicare & Medicard Services

Member spotlight

Optasia Medical

Optasia Medical makes software that facilitates the reading of X-rays for the management of musculoskeletal diseases. Our products are used by physicians to identify and monitor patients who will benefit from treatment. With our automated software tools, X-rays can be evaluated more rapidly, more accurately and more reproducibly. Our flagship product, SpineAnalyzer™ helps address the problem of under-treated osteoporosis by providing a rapid workflow for assessing and clearly documenting often-missed vertebral fracture.